With its cobbled streets and fascinating history, Ulverston is a great place to visit and full of surprises.
Visitors come from far and wide to explore this lovely market town with so many independent and family run shops.
Furthermore, Stan Laurel was born here in Argyle Street in June 1890.
His former home can be still be seen a short walk away from the town centre.
A bronze statue of the comedy duo stands outside the Coronation Hall where visitors make a beeline to have a selfie taken with the comedy legends.
The Laurel and Hardy museum is situated in the nearby Roxy cinema building.
On show are artefacts and objects belonging to the comedy duo.
Regular viewings of their classic films run throughout the day which makes an ideal venue on a rainy day.
Ulverstons’s most visible landmark (modelled on an earlier version of the Eddystone Lighthouse) is the Hoad Monument.
Built in 1850, this concrete structure was built to commemorate statesman and local resident Sir John Barrow.
The uphill climb is well rewarded with breathtaking views across the whole area including Morecambe Bay and the Lake District.
Swarthmoor Hall is a Grade II* building situated just outside the town and is like stepping back in time.
With oak panelled rooms and furnished in authentic pieces of furniture and objects belonging to the people who lived there in the infancy of the Quaker movement.
The hall is open to the public and pilgrims from around the world.
Another impressive site is the Buddhist temple at Conishead Priory on the coast road to Bardsea which is hard to miss with its golden roof.
The priory includes the Manjushri Kadampa Meditation Centre.
Visitors can simply look around the site (with woodland access to the shore of Morecambe Bay) or try a free meditation session at 12.30pm & 2pm each day.