Dalton was historically the capital of Furness and is mentioned in the Domesday Book. Dalton Castle is a 14th century pele tower built to assert the authority of the Abbot of Furness Abbey. Over the years it has been used as a courtroom and a gaol. Furthermore, it was formerly the manorial courthouse of Furness Abbey. The castle is open 2pm to 5pm on Saturday afternoon. You can enjoy a walk around the historic buildings around the Market Place. Look out for the unique cast-iron shop front at No51 Market Place. There is also an elegant drinking fountain, the market cross and the slabs of stone used for fish drying in the 19th-Century. Dalton also boasts the home to the earliest recorded book club in the world established in 1764. Another interesting face is that the artist George Romney was born at Beckside, Dalton-in Furness in 1734.
The pretty village of Kents Bank is the setting for Lothlorien holiday cottage. This Grange-over-Sands holiday accommodation is situated on the edge of the ever changing sands of Morecambe Bay. Morecambe Bay is one of the last wildernesses left in England and is a sand plain of one hundred and twenty square miles. Kents Bank takes its name from the River Kent which once ran close to the shore. Today, due to the shifting sands, the shore is more of a salt marsh with springy turf covering the immediate shoreline. Lothlorien holiday-let is a five minute walk from the shore and railway station. Kents Bank is famously known as one end of the internationally renowned Cross-Bay route. This dangerous route was once regularly used by horse-drawn coaches crossing the sands to and from Lancaster. Right until the mid-nineteenth century, the ‘main road’ from Lancaster to the Furness peninsula continued to be across the bay. As a result, shifting sands changed the ‘normal’ route between Hest Bank and Kents Bank which has been deemed too dangerous. Subsequently, the historic cross-bay route now goes between Arnside and Kents Bank.
Abbot Hall (now known as Lambert Manor) is located on an ancient site dating from about 1160. It stands on the site of an ancient dwelling built for the Abbot of Furness. The medieval buildings of Abbot Hall have long since disappeared. Since the Dissolution of the monasteries, Abbott Hall became, for a long time, a private residence, passing through various families’ hands over the years and around 1900 was used as a school. In later years is became a Methodist guest house. The current mansion was built in the 1840s, partly through the work of Mary Lambert, perhaps the wealthiest lady to ever have lived in Cartmel. Miss Lambert also built Boarbank Hall and left bequests to St Mary’s church in nearby Allithwaite. For many years, Abbot Hall ran successfully Methodist guest house. It has recently changed hands and been renamed Lambert Manor Hotel. Finally, was told a story by Cecil Hayman, who lived at Kents Bank railway station in the 1930s. He remembered trains stopping at Kents Bank full of passengers going to Abbot Hall for their holidays. The train was met at the station by the Abbot Hall donkey pulling a cart ready to take their luggage to the hotel. I presume the donkey in the photograph is the same donkey this time pulling a lawn mower.
Morecambe Bay is one of the finest birdwatching sites in Britain. Centred on the 310 square kilometres of inter-tidal sand flats it is an outstanding combination of habitats from off shore islands tosalt marsh and sand dunes. The Arnside/Silverdale and Bowland areas are designated as ‘Areas of outstanding Natural Beauty’, all testifying to the richness and importance of the area for wildlife. Furthermore, set against the magical backdrop of the Lakeland fells, it’s an ever-changing world of water and sand moulded by theconstant ebb and glow of the tides making it home to one of the largest concentrations of birds in Europe. Tens of thousands of waders, wildfowl and gulls winter or breed, or pass through on their migrations from the Artic to Africa, making itof truly national and international importance.
One of the best-selling artists of the 21st Century is taking the stage at Cartmel. David Gray follows on from the likes of Cliff Richard, Sophie Ellis-Baxter, Boyzone and Tom Jones who have all performed at Cartmel in recent years. The June concert will follow a full day’s racing at the picturesque racecourse. For tickets go to: https://cartmel-racecourse.co.uk/
After more than half a century, the Queen’s Guide to the Sands – Cedric Robinson MBE has decided to call it a day and retire. In that time, he has taken people such as Prince Philip and Melvyn Bragg and thousands of others across the sands raising thousands of pounds for charity. Starting in 1963, Mr Robinson has witnessed huge changes in the landscape and explains that the sands are more treacherous now they have been in a lifetime. His successor – Michael Wilson, a Flookburgh fisherman has already being appointed, but Mr Robinson is not finished up just yet. His new role will be a as Ambassador to the Guide Over Sands Trust and will oversee a transitional period while his successor settles in.
Silverdale is in an area of outstanding natural beauty and very enduring and popular area for walkers. Close to Morecambe Bay and on the outskirts of Silverdale, is a mysterious tower at Jenny Brown’s point. Walkers will have wondered about the isolated tower standing prominently on the shore is actually for. Being so close to the shore, some believed it was a beacon, used to direct ships, others suggested a limekiln. With the ever-shifting sands and severe weather, the coastline has changed significantly around Jenny Brown’s Point. Since the 1980s the changes and coastal erosion has carved away evidence of past ventures on the site. A targeted archaeological dig by the Morecambe Bay Partnership and local volunteers have uncovered that the chimney is part of a much larger complex of features. The dig discovered that the chimney was probably attached to flues from a nearby furnace. Little evidence to what the furnace may have been for exists but it is thought to have been to roast locally mined metal ores such as copper or iron. Presumably being so close to the shore the site will have been ideal for shipping the metals but the downside will have been that the buildings regularly flooded. Perhaps this is one of the reasons the furnace had a relatively short life.
The Lakeland Motor Museum is a great local attraction with something for all the family. Besides being in a beautiful location, this modern museum is a must for all motoring enthusiasts. Nestled in the scenic Leven Valley the museum is open to visitors seven days a week The museum is a unique collection of around 30,000 exhibits assembled over 50 years. The collection is home to classic cars, motorcycles, bicycles, pedal cars and motoring related items. Furthermore, a seperate exhibition is dedicated as a tribute to father and son, Sir Malcolm and Donald Campbell. The pair between them, captured twenty one world land and water speed records in the Bluebird series of cars and boats. Donald Campbell was tragically killed on Coniston Water in January 1967, whilst attempting to break his own water speed record. Highlights include full-size replicas of the Bluebird car built in 1935, the Bluebird K4 boat, and the famous 1967 jet hydroplane, Bluebird K7.
Ullswater is the Lake District’s second largest lake. It is 9miles long by 0.75 miles wide and less than 200 feet deep at its deepest point. Fishing in Ullswater is free, a rod licence is all that you need. There are perch, pike and schelley – an endangered and protected whitefish relic from the last ice age. However, the only serious fishing is for brown trout. In 1955, it was used by Donald Campbell to set the world speed record in his jet powered boat Bluebird. The lake was also used in WW2 to test mini submarines and flying boats. William Wordsworth found inspiration for his poem ‘I wandered lonely as a cloud’ on April 15th 1802 whilst walking with his sister Dorothy along the lake shore from Aira Beck to Glencoyne.
Fell Foot Park is a great, family friendly location at the southern end of Windermere near Newby Bridge. You will find a magnificent view up the lake to the mountains of the central lakes. The walking is easy and you can hire a rowing boat at the far end of the park next to the boathouse café. There’s also an adventure park for children. It is a great place to have a picnic. Fell Foot is 20 minutes away by car from Lothlorien.
Swarthmoor Hall was built in 1652 as a country home set in beautiful grounds in 130 acres of farmland. Known as the cradle of Quakerism due to Judge Thomas and Margaret Fell, the latter an important player in the founding of the Religious Society of Friends (Quakers) providing protection and hospitality for the early Quaker movement in the 17th century. It remains in use today as a Quaker retreat house. George Fox visited the Hall in 1652. Thomas Fell was away travelling as a judge, but Fox had an audience with Margaret Fell, who became interested in his new doctrines. She arranged for him to preach in St. Mary’s Church in Ulverston and at the Hall. During his time there, many people were convinced of the truth of his teachings. For anyone interested in the birthplace Quakerism, Swarthmoor Hall is still a meeting house for Quakers. It is open to the public and there are six historic rooms on view displaying a fine selection of 17-century furniture.
Great Langdale is easy to get to from Ambleside or Windermere. It’s not surprising this valley is so popular with walkers and climbers. The Langdale Pikes rise sheer from the valley floor with continual dramatic scenery as you drive up the length of the valley. The Old Dungeon Ghyll is a perfect refuge after a day on the fells. Nearby, The Stickle Barn (run by The National Trust) is a very popular meeting place for climbers and walkers alike. In summary, Great Langdale has something for everyone who is interested in walking, climbing and exploring this stunning landscape.
Arnside has been a fishing village, boat building centre and Victorian playground. The stone jetty is testimony to the visiting pleasure craft of yesteryear. A peaceful village with pretty shops, it attracts holidaymakers to its waterfront with magnificent views over to the Lakeland fells. Arnside is popular with walkers, cyclists and birdwatchers. The areas around Arnside are renowned as designated Areas of Outstanding Beauty and Sites of Scientific Interest because of the rare butterflies and alpine succulents that shelter amongst the limestone pavements. You can drive or walk to Arnside Knott where you will be treated to a panoramic view of the Lakeland fells. There are many lovely walks around Arnside Knott and up to the Pepper Pot at Silverdale. Arnside Knott is a rolling 521-foot fell just south of the village. From here there are many lovely walks around the Knott and up to the Pepper Pot at Silverdale. This quaint old former fishing village has a charming promenade with independent shops, pubs and cafes. The fish and chip shop sells the best fish and chips for miles around. From the promenade, the sunsets are spectacular and from the pier watching the tide roar in on the bore never fails to fascinate. Arnside is two stops by train from Kents Bank Station.
On the site of Yewbarrow Lodge apartments in the centre of Grange-over-sands, once stood a 19-Century house of the same name. In 1915 the the owner, Arthur Leigh, died when the SS Lusitania was sunk. In 1919 the 15 acre estate was bought by Lt.Col. Austin Porritt, a director of the Ramsbottom textile firm, Porritt & Spencer Ltd. He instructed a renowned landscape design firm of Thomas Mawson to create formal gardens. At the beginning of World War Two, Yewbarrow Lodge took in young evacuees from Salford. In 1941 the house was hit by an incendiary bomb and badly damaged. Fortunately, nobody was killed, but the building was badly damaged and Lt. Col. Porritt spent the rest of his years living in the nearby Grange Hotel. Austin Porritt was a champion archer, and in the 1930s the lawn area served as a practice ground. In his will Austin Porritt bequeathed the Lodge, garden and woodland to Grange Urban District Council. His instruction was for the space to be left as an open space for the benefit of the inhabitants of Grange. In the 1980s, the ruined house was demolished to make way for today’s apartments.
Furness Abbey near Barrow in Furness was once one of the richest Cistercian monasteries in England. The wealth came from such things as farming, controlled fishing, production of grain and leather. The majestic red sandstone remains of the lovely 12th-Century abbey lie in a peaceful valley. William Wordsworth called it the ‘vale of nightshade’. The soaring ruins of red sandstone soak up the grandeur of this 900 year old site. The majestic remains of Furness Abbey once housed the flourishing community of a wealthy order. Many of the buildings are still standing which made up the Abbey, including the Outer Court, the Church with its North and South Transept and Tower, the Cloister Court, Chapter House, the dormitory, infirmary and kitchen. The Abbey was founded by Count (later King) Stephen of Boulogne around c.1125. Much of the structure is the later Cistercian, as opposed to the original Savignac. The Abbey developed a harbour on Walney Island to promote its trade in wool and iron, and built a castle at Piel for protection. It became such a prize that the Scots raided it twice and survived until henry VIII chose it to be the first large abbey to be dissolved. Furness Abbey is 40 minutes away from Lothlorien by car.
Cartmel has been celebrating the 800th anniversary of the man who founded Cartmel Priory. The church was founded in 1189 by Sir William Marshall on land recently granted to him by King Henry II. He became a famous medieval figure who was later involved with the Magna Carter. William Marshall still has a bearing on the nations’ laws and governments to this day. Originally founded as a priory for Augustinian canons in around 1189, the oldest parts are the chancel, transepts, the south doorway and part of the north wall of the nave. The huge east window nearly fills the east wall and contain some fragments of medieval glass rescued from earlier works. The Priory Church of St Mary and St Michael also served as a parish church. From the outside notice the unusual tower built at a 45-degree angle across the original low lantern tower. Thankfully, the priory was saved from outright destruction during the Dissolution of Monasteries in the 1530s. Keep a look out for the 15th century choir stalls, each with a misericord, bear many carvings of animals. Finally, don’t miss the bullet holes visible in the south west door of the nave. These holes are leftovers from the 1640s, when Roundhead troops stayed in the village and stabled their horses in the church.
Carnforth Railway Station’s main claim to fame is for its use as the location for David Lean’s 1945 film ‘Brief Encounter’. Today it is still an important station being on the West Coast Main Line. Carnforth Station Heritage Centre is well worth a visit as is the themed 1940s cafeteria capitalising on the film. Your visit would not be complete without seeing the famous Carnforth Station clock made by Joyce of Whitchurch in the late 19th century. During the shooting of the Brief Encounter the clock was covered in canvas with painted numbers and moveable hands so the time could be manipulated.
Discover the Brewery Arts Centre in Kendal which is one of the country’s leading arts centres. Established in 1972, this popular venue presents a year round programme of exciting, diverse, top quality events and performances. From film to art exhibitions to restaurants and bars the Brewery has something for everyone. If you are out for the evening, the Pizza in the Vats bar is a real treat not to be missed.
With its cobbled streets and fascinating history, Ulverston is a great place to visit and full of surprises. Visitors come from far and wide to explore this lovely market town with so many independent and family run shops. Furthermore, Stan Laurel was born here in Argyle Street in June 1890. His former home can be still be seen a short walk away from the town centre. A bronze statue of the comedy duo stands outside the Coronation Hall where visitors make a beeline to have a selfie taken with the comedy legends. The Laurel and Hardy museum is situated in the nearby Roxy cinema building. On show are artefacts and objects belonging to the comedy duo. Regular viewings of their classic films run throughout the day which makes an ideal venue on a rainy day. Ulverstons’s most visible landmark (modelled on an earlier version of the Eddystone Lighthouse) is the Hoad Monument. Built in 1850, this concrete structure was built to commemorate statesman and local resident Sir John Barrow. The uphill climb is well rewarded with breathtaking views across the whole area including Morecambe Bay and the Lake District. Swarthmoor Hall is a Grade II* building situated just outside the town and is like stepping back in time. With oak panelled rooms and furnished in authentic pieces of furniture and objects belonging to the people who lived there in the infancy of the Quaker movement. The hall is open to the public and pilgrims from around the world. Another impressive site is the Buddhist temple at Conishead Priory on the coast road to Bardsea which is hard to miss with its golden roof. The priory includes the Manjushri Kadampa Meditation Centre. Visitors can simply look around the site (with woodland access to the shore of Morecambe Bay) or try a free meditation session at 12.30pm & 2pm each day.
This Leyland Clock stood proudly for many years at the Jungle transport cafe on the A6 near to Shap. In 1973, after being renovated, the clock was moved to the Kendal Brewery Arts Centre where it stands today. Seven Leyland Clocks were located at prominent positions (including on the A1 near Boroughbridge in Yorkshire). There’s an ongoing debate about how many clocks there were, but its generally agreed there were less than a dozen.
Townend was home to the Browne family for 400 years before it was given to the National Trust in 1943. The farmhouse is brimming with character with a library full of rare books and intricately carved furniture. Built in 1626 for George Browne who was a wealthy yeoman farmer. The house has been unchanged down the centuries with many rooms still don’t have electric light. With beautiful gardens a visit here certainly gives you a feel of what a harsh life it once was for the farming community in this isolated place.
Have you ever thought about going for a swim in a lake or a tarn? Wild swimming is becoming ever more popular, so what makes people take a plunge into a cold, wet lake? For a start the water is a breath-taking refreshment to your body, the view is completely different from down below the bank and after the shock of the cold water it galvanises the heart. Cumbrian lakes are now cleaner, safer and more accessible than at any time in living memory and the health benefits of a wild swim or a natural dip are well publicised. Take proper precautions and wild swimming can be a safe and fun way to enjoy the outdoors So stay safe and the shimmering waters will reconnect you with the natural world around you.
Only thirty minutes drive from Lothlorien you will come to the fascinating and relatively unspoilt market town of Kirkby Lonsdale. Set in the picturesque Lune Valley, this beautiful market town has something for everyone. Central is the pleasant Market Square surrounded by a complex of interesting buildings including the imposing Royal Hotel. For shoppers, Thursday is the day, as the market attracts visitors and local people alike. Market day is busy with a range of stalls offering everything from meat, fruit and veg to souvenirs, bakery, plants and clothing. Well worth a visit is the 14th century Devil’s Bridge which is a magnet for motorcyclists throughout the year. Ruskin’s View: Ruskin’s viewpoint is accessible down a pretty alley beside the Sun Inn and through the graveyard of the Norman Church of St Mary the Virgin. Furthermore, this view has been immortalised in a painting by JMW Turner, painted in 1822. John Ruskin described the view as “the loveliest in England”. From Ruskin’s view there’s another pleasant walk down the radical steps to the River Lune. Eating Out: There are plenty of restaurants, pubs and cafes to enjoy a snack or a drink. Kirkby Lonsdale even has its own brewery where you can try their craft beers at their Royal Barn bar in the town. Additionally, the town has always had a reputation for quality independent shops lining the main streets in the centre. For the artistic visitor, the town boasts two art galleries located on the outskirts – Finestra gallery and Leck gallery. Recently, The Sunday Times voted Kirkby Lonsdale one of the best places to live in the North West. Another quirky fact is that the Bronte sisters went to school in nearby Cowen Bridge in the 1820s. Kirkby Lonsdale attracts approximately 24,000 visitors each year.
Claife Viewing Station is an attraction well worth a visit and not too far from Lothlorien. Set on a rocky hillside overlooking Windermere, this ruin of a residence noted for each room being glazed in different coloured glass to represent the landscape in the changing seasons. It was originally built in the 1790s as a summer house by a local clergyman and further expanded in later years. It was once owned by the Curwen family, who owned Belle Isle, Windermere’s only inhabited island. During the 1800s the building was used by wealthy visitors for social events, such as, parties and dances and theatricals. It was certainly a place to go and been seen on Windermere at that time.
Hampsfell high above Grange-over-sands is home to large areas of Limestone pavements. These Limestone rock surfaces were formed under warm seas about 350 million years ago. The pavements seen today, were exposed around 10,000 years ago as soil was stripped off by moving ice during the last ice age. Limestone Pavements are bare limestone rock surfaces comprising of slabs of rock known as clints. Clints have formed large vertical cracks known as grikes which have been developed over time by weathering. Limestone pavements offer a unique habitat for many unusual and interesting species of plant life including flowers and ferns. Furthermore, rare alpine plants, including saxifrage flourish in the crevasses. Limestone pavements are under threat, from the quarrying of ‘water-worn limestone’ to satisfy the demand for its use in garden rockeries.
It’s highly likely that William Wordsworth and his family walked along this route from Rydal to Grasmere. The path will have been regularly used before there was a consecrated local burial ground at Rydal. This old corpse route would have been used to transport the dead over a fairly steep route. The nearest consecrated burial ground at that time was at St Oswald’s Church in Grasmere. There are two large stone ‘coffin slabs’ along the route where the bearers could put the coffin down and have a break. The coffin route is approximately 4.5 miles along a well established path. Finally, it takes about 40 minutes from Lothlorien in Kents Bank by car.
We are the Chadwick family and will be delighted to welcome you to this special part of the country. On arrival, we guarantee you a lovely warm Cumbrian welcome. Pam, Holly and Matthew have lived in Grange-over-Sands all their lives. David has lived and worked in this beautiful place for over forty years. To make the family complete we have Matthew’s dog called Buddy, the softest dog ever. We also have Archie, an Irish Draught pony, who belongs to Holly. We live very close to Lothlorien, which will be your home from home during your stay. The property boasts a large garden, summer house, free off-road parking, free WiFi and stunning views over Morecambe bay. As a family, we are committed to your enjoyment and will do everything we can to make your holiday special and one to remember for ever.
The oldest building in Grange is Hardcragg Hall, dating from 1563. It was was once the home of John Wilkinson, the ironmaster. He sailed the first iron boat on the nearby River Winster, manufactured new water pipes for Paris. Furthermore, he fashioned a canon used by Wellington at the battle of Waterloo in 1815. Later, Beatrix Potter, who was a friend of the owners, regularly visited the hall, which had its own piggery. It was on one of these visits she met the original Pigling Bland – a character in one of her successful story books. It is believed the current Grange library occupies the site of the piggery. Even today, the road by the side of the library is called Pig Lane.
Longsleddale is the most easterly of the major valleys of Lakeland, located 4 miles north of Kendal near Garnett Bridge. Delightful and straight, this narrow valley stretches for 8 miles and preserves a wonderful unspoilt feel. Its remote seclusion leaves it untainted by tourism or, for that matter, commercialism. Unusually, the valley has neither a pub nor a shop along its length. Furthermore, the valley is an oasis of pastoral tranquillity amidst inhospitable fells. The valley looks just as it would have centuries ago. Furthermore, it was once an important packhorse route travelling between Scotland and the south, or towards the west. A petition for a bridge at Sadgill was made in 1717 to allow the river to be crossed when in spate. Finally, after 8 miles the narrow road peters out and is as far as you can go by car. Although untouched by commercialism, one point to note is that Longsleddale was the inspiration for Greendale, the fictional home of Postman Pat and his black and white cat.
We are delighted that Lothlorien Holiday Cottage has recently been awarded Four Stars from VisitEngland. Our goal at Lothlorien is to provide guests with high quality accommodation in clean comfortable surroundings in the Lake District. Early in 2019, we were independently audited by an assessor from VisitEngland. VisitEngland conducted a thorough audit to ensure they are satisfied that we meet their quality standard for holiday cottages and self-catering holiday lets. We are overjoyed to have been given this prestigious rating. VisitEngland is the national tourism agency who were satisfied our commitment to quality accommodation met their standard. For potential guests, having this award gives them confidence in a quality label they can trust. Having the award sets Lothlorien apart from our competitors for holiday accommodation in the Grange, Cartmel and wider Cumbria area.
Delightful Gelt Wood near Brampton is a fascinating place to visit. A short walk from the car park takes you into an ancient deciduous woodland. The path follows the valley of the river Gelt taking in a red sandstone gorge and a roman quarry. This hidden gem of Cumbria contains some fascinating graffiti dating back nearly 2000 years. Within the woods, sandstone cliffs still bear the marks of Roman stonemasons who quaried there during the building of Hadrian’s Wall. The marks date back to AD2007 were made by workers quarrying stone for the repair and refortification of Hadrian’s Wall. This site is one of only a handful of Roman quarries in England which still feature inscriptions. The graffiti includes a caricature poking fun at a commanding officer and a good luck phallus symbol. Due to erosion, a partnership between Historic England and archaeologists from Newcastle University are to make a photographic record for future generations before they are lost. This site is one of only a handful of Roman quarries in England which still feature inscriptions.
Elegant Rydal Hall is a stunning place to explore. Set in over 30 acres, close to Rydal Water, it is a perfect place to walk and breath in the clear Cumbrian air . The views are stunning with Rydal Hall boasting amazing views over the Rothay Valley. In particular, the grounds are a perfect place to relax and enjoy this beautiful part of the world. Both visually and historically, Rydal Hall is the most stunning building in Rydal. This magnificent house was built as the country seat of the Le Fleming baronets who can be traced back to 1126. Originally the Le Fleming’s lived at Coniston Hall some miles away. In 1575 they moved to Rydal to the old Hall which was built on a knoll beside the present main road. Later in 1681, is was described as ‘now in ruins’. The new Hall was built by Sir Michael le Fleming in the 16th century. Further alterations were carried out over the years with the main front dating to the 19th century. Experts consider the Hall to be architecturally fine and is listed as Grade II along with terraces, bridges and outbuildings. Since 1963, Rydal Hall has been run by the Church of England Diocese of Carlisle. The Hall offers conference facilitates and accommodation. Futhermore its a place of hospitality, tranquillity and spirituality for all.
Quirky is a great way to describe Wray Castle being a neo-gothic building with a fascinating history. Furthermore, it boasts beautiful parkland including a stunning part of the Windermere coastline with amazing views of the Lake District fells. It was built in 1840 for retired surgeon, James Dawson and his wife Margaret. Certainly, at the time, the castle was designed to impress with fairytale towers and splendid lofty halls. However, since 1929 the castle has been owned by the National Trust. The Castle and 64 acres of land were donated by Sir Noton and Lady Barclay. Interestingly, Wray Castle was the first place Beatrix Potter stayed in the area along with her family. Celebrating her 16th birthday, Beatrix sparked her love and life-long association with this beautiful part of the Lake District. So much so, later, she bought her own small farm at nearby Hill Top, with the proceeds of her first book The Tale of Peter Rabbit. To summarise, Wray Castle has a great range of activities for everyone, young and old. There is a Peter Rabbit adventure for younger children, while older children can dress up, help build a castle or play outside and swing on the ropes swings. For older visitors, take a tour of the castle or explore the trails and gardens and learn about the history.
The Windermere Ferry is the only way to get from one side of the lake to the other (rather than travel all the way around). The lake is at it’s narrowest at ‘The Nab’ near Far Sawrey and the opposite side at Bowness-on-Windermere. There has been a ferry of one sort or another since the 1300s. The current ferry is named Mallard and was built in 1990 and is operated by a pair of cables under the lake. It is owned and managed by Cumbria County Council. It runs all year and can carry 18 cars and 100 passengers. However, coaches, motor bikes and even horses can be transported. The crossing is so smooth and quiet it’s easy to be half way across before you realise it! A toll is charged and the journey generally takes 10 minutes.
Not many people know this (including many locals), so I’ll let you into an amazing Kents Bank secret. So, here goes. Kents Bank has its very own cave tucked away on Kirkhead.
Kirkhead Cave is situated just outside Grange-over-Sands in the Parish of Allithwaite and is one of only three known Palaeolithic caves in Cumbria. Palaeolithic caves and rock shelters provide some of the earliest evidence of human activity in the period from about 400,000 to 10,000 years
After excavation work was completed, analysis of some of the bones found in the cave revealed they are the earliest bones known from Northern Britain.
Experts took a fragment of a human leg bone and radiocarbon dated it to just over 10,000 years old. This is the earliest known human bone from northern Britain, following the retreat of the polar conditions of the last Ice Age.
The large chamber in Kirkhead Cave has been excavated on numerous occasions over the years going back to the 1860s. Along with the human bones, other bones have been found including horse, cattle and even elk.
Allan Bank is a beautiful National Trust property on the edge of Grasmere. It is a former home of Canon Rawnsley who was a founder of the National Trust. The property was condemned as an eyesore by William Wordsworth when it was being built. To add more intrigue to the story, in 1808 after he had married, he and Mary moved here with their three children John, Thomas and Dora. Also living with them were Mary’s sister Sara Hutchinson, and their literary friends Thomas de Quincey and Samuel Taylor Coleridge. They stayed here for two years during which time they had two more children, Catherine and William, but they moved on because the chimneys smoked too much, and they fell out with the landlord. It is slightly different from any other National Trust property as you can sit and relax, read the papers, make a brew and generally imagine you live there. If that is not enough, the views and location are to die for. Well worth a visit anytime.
It was a pleasant surprised to see that Kirkhead Tower in Kents Bank, Grange-over-Sands, is, at long last, having some structural repair work carried out. I’ve been concerned for a long time that it had fallen into such as state it would eventually fall down. Apparently, the tower was built by the Cavendish Family probably in the 19th century as a summerhouse. The views over Morecambe from here are absolutely stunning.
The Lido in Grange has stood empty since 1993 and has fallen into decline ever since. In 2011, a group of concerned residents formed the ‘Save Grange Lido’ campaign group tosave and restore this iconic building. Detailed plans have recently been finalised, after engaging a specialist architect to draw upa restoration plan, which they intend to present to South Lakeland District Council shortly. Opened in 1932, such structures were a common feature across the country. Grange Lido consisted of a salt water pool with diving board and surrounded by a sun deck, changing rooms and an attendant room. These ambitious plans would enhance Grange as a visitor attraction and,above all, make the residents proud of this iconic structure at the far end of Grange promenade.
A stunning long distance route that takes you on a tour all the way around Morecambe Bay; being one of the most beautiful stretches of coastline in the UK. Taking you from the south west coast of Cumbria to Glasson Dock in Lancashire, this route is a feast for cyclists. A total of 81 miles, the Bay Cycle Way is a fantastic new route that takes you on a mixture of traffic-free paths and quiet lanes through a beautiful part of Cumbria and Lancashire. The route travels past a number of fantastic tourist attractions including Conishead Priory, Morecambe’s art deco hotel, ‘The Midland’, pretty Cartmel (with its 800 years old Priory), RSPB’s wildlife haven at Leighton Moss and historic Lancaster and Glasson Dock. This route is a perfect and gentle introduction to long distance cycling. For further ideas for spending a cycling break here in Cumbria follow the link below: National Geographic
The River Kent flows into the bay carving deep, ever shifting, channels into the shimmering sands of Morecambe Bay. Cross Bay Walks are led by Cedric Robinson MBE the Queen’s Official Guide. The Guide’s role is to navigate walkers safely over the treacherous sands from Arnside to Kents Bank. Over the years the sands have claimed the lives of hundreds of people from fishermen and travellers. In particular, most have fallen victim to the dangerous tides and quicksands. Morecambe Bay is a fascinating piece of coastline with its ever shifting sands surrounded by gently rolling farmland and classic seaside towns. Lothlorien is a perfect place to stay in the pretty village of Kents Bank on the edge of the bay.
For anyone who hasn’t been before, the seaside town Grange-over-Sands is a perfect base to explore the fells of South Lakeland and the Furness Coastline. This charming Edwardian resort has a sunny, south-facing position on the edge of Morecambe bay and has some of the finest parks and gardens on the Cumbrian coast, including the beautiful ornamental gardens. Perhaps the most striking feature, without doubt, is the view of the bay from the Morecambe bay sands. From the promenade you can sit and watch the water as it ebbs and flows with the coming and going of the tides. The bay estuary and the countryside around Grange are fascinating places for bird enthusiasts. Birds flock to the estuary, where you can observe all kinds of waders, duck, geese and waterbirds generally. Hampsfell Hospice is situated on the fell above Grange and has provided shelter for travellers ever since. Just a half hour’s walk from from Grange, the Hospice boasts an outstanding view that takes in the Old Man of Coniston, Helvelyn, the Langdales and Morecambe Bay.
Is it worth taking a holiday out of season? You can still have a fantastic holiday here in the Lakes even though the days are shorter and the nights longer. Here are some ideas to make the most of your stay: 1. Take time to enjoy many of the National Trust and English Heritage gems 2. Enjoy walking on quieter paths and bridleways 3. Relax over long lazy lunches at some of the excellent restaurants in the area. To book your stay at Lothlorien please email: firstname.lastname@example.org or call us on 015395 32642 today.
Acorn Bank is an interesting sandstone Manor House, situated in the beautiful Eden Valley near Penrith. The travel time from Lothlorien is roughly 45 minutes. The house dates back to the 13th century when it’s first owners were the Knights Templar in 1228. With 180 acres of park and woodland, a restored Watermill and walled garden, there is plenty to see. Acorn Bank is particularly noted for its walled herb garden containing the largest collection of medicinal herbs in northern Britain. A tour of the house is a fascinating insight into the history of this amazing place. From it being as a Hospital of St John in 1323 through to it being owned by a local landowner called Thomas Dalston. The house was given to the National Trust by the writer, art collector and traveller, Dorothy Una Radcliffe in 1950.
Tarn Hows is a very popular Lake District attraction close to Coniston and Hawkshead. What is less well known is that the tarn used to be three smaller ones called High, Middle and Low Tarn. In 1862, James Marshall gained the land and set about building a dam to raise the level. This along with other landscaping largely created the Tarn Hows we see today. Later he sold it to Beatrix Heelis, better known as Beatrix Potter, who eventually passed it to the National Trust for safe keeping.
It’s remarkable that this prehistoric stone circle, on Birkrigg Common near Ulverston, has been here for over 3000 years. Known as The Druid’s Temple, the site consists of rare concentric double stone circles in use from the late Neolithic to the end of the early Bronze Age. To think how the world has developed since they were placed here is absolutely incredible.
The beautiful market town of Ulverston is busy getting ready for Tour of Britain which passes through the town on September 7th. Festival flags and bikes dressed by local families are being displayed on the Tank Square roundabout on the A590 approach into town.
Shap Abbey was built in 1199, and was the last Abbey to be founded in England, and the last to be dissolved by Henry VIII in 1540 Located in a secluded but stunning setting by the River Lowther, it can be accessed easily from the main A6 road through Shap. The 15th century tower and other remains can be explored with the help of information boards all around the site.